h1

A blog about food, isn t so bad.

September 3, 2006

 http://www.megnut.com/ 
Megnut.com is a website about food.banner_over.gif

 The author is saying: 

Megnut.com is a website about food. Started in 1999 as an all-purpose blog, its focused switched entirely to food in May, 2006. I (author Meg Hourihan) am neither chef nor foodie nor critic. I prefer the label “food enthusiast.” I have worked in a variety of jobs — in a past life I was an internet entrepreneuer and co-founder of Pyra Labs, the company that produced Blogger. Pyra was acquired by Google in 2003. I am now spending my days exploring food through this website.

My approach to food blogging is guided by my varied food experiences. I’ve worked the ovens at a Cape Cod pie shop (worst moment: when my hand slipped into boiling blackberry pie), spent nine-hour shifts making ice cream in Cambridge MA (nothing bad about that), and worked garde manger at a restaurant on Nantucket Island, MA (see photo). I’ve read many many cookbooks and tried lots of recipes. I even took a one-day cooking class in Bangkok, but have yet to attempt to reproduce any Thai delights at home. Most importantly, I’ve loved food and cooking since approximately fourth grade, when I burned milk while making chocolate pudding after school.

This site is an excuse for me to follow my culinary curiosities wherever they may lead me. That means recipes some days, links others, some articles, some travel, and basically whatever I find interesting in the world of food. As my interests change, so will the content. It will not be limited to any specific topic except the broad one of “food”.

Leave a Reply

